Tattered Gloves by J.L. Berg

Tattered Gloves by J.L Berg
Ebook
wpid-recommendation-logo-2preview-jpg-e1439835613481

Have you ever had a moment where you wish you can go back and change differently? It happened one night, a night that in many ways made me what I am right now. It was a night that not only changed me but made me see I was not alone. I never knew I had an aunt or that there was a better life besides my moms life. Not only do I know about Addy my aunt but also the brooding, silent boy Sam Shepard. I don`t like men and yet no matter how much I try to be myself Sam is always there. Something about him making a point to get me out of my shell well makes me giddy. I`m a 16 year old teenager in a new place, scared of any boy looking at me and wearing gloves 24/7 yet Sam still wants me. Friends and boys are not a common thing to me especially a doting aunt who just wants me to be loved.

People call her strange but there is just something that intrigues me about Mittens. My special nickname for her but she is Willow to everyone. On the outsides she is shy but there is a look about her that makes me just want to bundle her up and love her. Hard to explain but working with her in the bookstore I see little pieces of her that she doesn`t share to anyone which is special to me in so many ways she doesn`t understand. As friendship goes she is still nervous but when were together in the bookstore I see a young girl just wanting to be normal and loved. Can I be the boy who breaks through Mitten`s walls and show her love is beautiful?

There comes a time where I will read a blurb and some times they are short not enough to say. Yet there is a time where the blurb makes you wonder what else? In this case J.L. Berg did that she intrigued me with just the first three sentences. We have Willow who is not your typical teenager but a young girl just trying to live normally. Then we have Sam Shepard who in a way is like Willow trying to live as normal as he can but he lives in a small town where everybody knows everybody`s business. J.L. Berg`s latest is packed with secrets, betrayal, lies but beneath all this bad things is a chance for a young girl to shine through all this. I loved Willow for her bravery, courage and most of all that she doesn`t care people call her strange for she just wants to be normal. Loved it.

“I received an eBook copy from the publisher for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own.”

One thought on “Tattered Gloves by J.L. Berg

Leave a Reply

